Since March 2020, the Courts of the Northwest Territories have issued Directives in response to the COVID 19 pandemic. These Directives were adjusted over time, to reflect the evolution of the public health situation. All the measures that had been put in place have been lifted and all court operations have returned to normal until further notice.

Changes to court schedules in observance of National Day for Truth and Reconciliation

In observance of the National Day for Truth and Reconciliation on September 30th, the Courts of the Northwest Territories have directed that no hearings be scheduled on that day. This has been reflected on the posted court schedules commencing in 2021 and will be observed annually. Emergency hearings and statutorily required hearings such as appearances before Justices of the Peace following arrest may be scheduled as required.

Supreme Court

The Supreme Court is the superior court of record in the Northwest Territories. Its judges are appointed by the federal government.

The Supreme Court is based in Yellowknife and also sits in other communities throughout the Northwest Territories as the need arises. It sits with and without a jury. It also exercises powers of judicial review over decisions of Territorial boards and tribunals.

The Supreme Court hears appeals in summary conviction criminal matters heard by the Territorial Court and the Justice of the Peace Court, as well as other appeals as provided for by statute. This Court also has jurisdiction over divorce, probate and estate administration.

Appeals from decisions of the Supreme Court are heard by the Court of Appeal for the Northwest Territories.

Rules of the Supreme Court can be found here.

The schedule of the Supreme Court can be found here.

Supreme Court Justices

  • The Honourable Justice L. A. Charbonneau, Chief Justice
  • The Honourable Justice K.M. Shaner
  • The Honourable Justice S. H. Smallwood
  • The Honourable Justice A.M. Mahar

The list of persons and businesses appearing in court today, and the location and time of the sitting in which...